August 2022 New York State Elections Update

NY State Government: Week in Review

On August 23, New York State held its primary elections for the U.S. House of Representatives and the State Senate. This was the second primary election day (an initial round was conducted on June 28 for the State Assembly, lieutenant governor and governor’s races), and was prompted by a court ruling earlier in the year that required the redrawing of congressional and State Senate legislative districts and necessitated a later, second primary election day. In addition, there were special elections for the 19th Congressional District to fill the seat vacated by former representative Antonio Delgado (D) when he assumed his current position as lieutenant governor in the Hochul administration and for the 23rd Congressional District due to the resignation of Rep. Tom Reed (R) on May 10. While not all the races have been called at this time, we wanted to provide you with an overview of the results as they currently stand.

Please note that incumbent candidates are designated with an *, Democrat candidates are designated with “(D)” and Republican candidates with “(R)”.

Key State Senate Race Results:

In the primary races for State Senate seats, the elections were noteworthy for the success of incumbent candidates. As of now, all incumbent candidates either have won their primary races or are expected to do so.

NY Senate 33 – Sen. Gustavo Rivera (D)* Leading (51.9%)
With all precincts reporting, Sen. Rivera holds a margin of roughly 500 votes over his primary challenger, Miguelina Camilo (46.8%).

NY Senate 31 – Sen. Robert Jackson (D)* (54.6%)
With all precincts reporting, Sen. Jackson holds a lead of roughly 2,800 votes over his nearest contender, Angel Vasquez (34.9%).

NY Senate 26 – Sen. Andrew Gounardes (D)* (66%)
With all precincts reporting, Sen. Gounardes holds a lead of roughly 8,200 votes over his challenger, David Yassky (32.6%).

NY Senate 21 – Sen. Kevin Parker (D)* (46%)
With almost all precincts reporting, Sen. Parker holds a lead of about 1,400 votes over his closest challenger, David Alexis (38%).

NY Senate 34 – Nathalia Fernandez (D) (61%)
With all precincts reporting, current Assemblymember Fernandez holds a lead of roughly 2,500 votes over her closest opponent, Christian Amato (27.93%).

Additional State Senate Races:
NY Senate 4 – Monica Martinez (D) (67%)
NY Senate 7 – Anna Kaplan (D)* (78%)
NY Senate 15 – Joseph Addabbo Jr. (D)* (57%)
NY Senate 23 – Jessica Scarcella-Spanton (D) (58%) (currently held by Sen. Diane Savino (D))
NY Senate 25 – Jabari Brisport (D)* (69%)
NY Senate 27 – Brian Kavanagh (D)* (54%)
NY Senate 30 – Cordell Cleare (D)* (67%)
NY Senate 47 – Brad Hoylman (D)* (69%)
NY Senate 52 – Lea Webb (D) (59%) (currently held by Sen. Fred Akshar (R))
NY Senate 59 – Kristen Gonzalez (D) (57%) (newly created district in Queens)
NY Senate 61 – Sean Ryan (D)* (81%)

Key Congressional Race Results:

In the state’s congressional races, Ulster County Executive Patrick Ryan (D) won the special election for the 19th Congressional District seat formerly held by now Lieutenant Governor Delgado. In the special election for the 23rd Congressional District seat formerly held by Congressman John Katko (R), Joseph Sempolinski (R) won. In closely followed races: Daniel Goldman (D) is leading in the 10th Congressional District and Jerrold Nadler (D) prevailed over fellow Rep. Carolyn Malone (D) in the 12th Congressional District, following those longtime representatives being put in the same congressional district under the new district maps.

NY-19 Special Election – Pat Ryan (D) (51.65%)
With all precincts reporting, Ryan leads Marcus Molinaro (R) by a margin of roughly 4,200 votes.

NY-23 Special Election – Joseph Sempolinski (R) (53%)
With all precincts reporting, Sempolinski defeated Max Della Pia (D) by more than 4,700 votes.

NY-10 – Daniel Goldman (D) (25%)
With all precincts reporting, Goldman leads with a margin of roughly 1,300 votes over his closest opponent, current Assemblymember Yun-Line Niou (D) (23%).

NY-12 – Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D)* (55%)
With all precincts reporting, Rep. Nadler holds a lead of roughly 25,000 votes over Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D)* (24%).

NY-18 – Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D)* (66%)
With all precincts reporting, Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D) leads current State Sen. Alessandra Biaggi (D) (32%) by a margin of roughly 10,000 votes.

NY-23 – Nick Langworthy (R) (51%)
With all but one precinct reporting, current NYS Republican Chair Nick Langworthy leads Carl Paladino (R) (47%) by a margin of roughly 2,000 votes.

Additional Congressional Races
NY-3 – Robert Zimmerman (D) (36%)
NY-4 – Laura Gillen (D) (63%)
NY-7 – Nydia Velazquez (D)* (82%)
NY-8 – Hakeem Jeffries (D)* (86%)
NY-11 – Max Rose (D) (74%)
NY-13 – Adriano Espaillat (D)* (78%)
NY-16 – Jamaal Bowman (D)* (56%)
NY-18 – Pat Ryan (D) (83%)



pursuant to New York DR 2-101(f)

© 2024 Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP.

All rights reserved